Keeping Your Gmail Google+ Connections When Setting Up a New Google+ Using a Google Apps Profile

Are you looking forward to being able to use Google+ with your Google Apps account? Do you already have a large collection of people in the Circles on the Google+ account you set up with your Gmail or other email address you’d like to “move” to the new Google+ account? Here’s a relatively easy way to do that.

When you set up your new Google+ account, add your “old” account to one of your Circles. If your “old” account is locked up tight and doesn’t share Circle information with the public or people in your circles, make sure to change the privacy settings for Circles set to AT LEAST share circle connections with your NEW profile.

To share one of your circles:

  1. Click on the circles icon  at the top of the page.
  2. Select the circle that you’d like to share.
  3. Click Share, which appears in the center of your circle.
  4. (Optional) Enter a comment to go along with the message that has been prepopulated.
  5. Choose who you want to share with.
  6. Click Share.

When you share a circle, you share a list of the people who are in that circle at that time. The name of the circle isn’t revealed. Sharing a circle is a great way to help out other people who may want to create a circle with the same people. For instance, if you already have a circle of sandboarders, you can share this circle with others who may be interested in the same type of people.

Then, in your NEW profile, visit your OLD profile’s page & click the View All link to see who are in your old Circles. This doesn’t tell you WHICH Circles, but at a minimum it lets you add them to a generic Circle that you can sort through later.

I hope that makes your move to Google+ with your Apps account a little easier!

Speak Your Mind

*

Unable to load the Are You a Human PlayThru™. Please contact the site owner to report the problem.